Fox Valley Metro Police Department Police Commission Meeting Minutes February 8, 2022

Commissioners

Present: Scott Schommer

Sue Brown Jason Weber Bill Van Berkel Carl Rambo

Excused: Jason Nate

Dept. Members: Daniel Meister, Chief of Police via virtual access

Kelly Vanden Heuvel, Administrative Manager

Public: None

The meeting was called to order at 4:57pm and roll call was taken.

Approval of Minutes

A motion was made by Carl Rambo to approve the minutes from the December 14, 2021, meeting. Sue Brown seconded the motion. The motion carried, 4-0.

Public Appearances to Address the Police Commission

None

Chief's Report

- Officer Jack Schinke was promoted from CSO to Officer after completing the academy at FVTC. His start date was January 17, 2022.
- The department is in the process of hiring a CSO to fill the open position created when Officer Schinke was promoted. Interviews are currently taking place.
- Officers have been taking part in Firearms, DAT, and Legal Update trainings the last few weeks.
- Communications regarding a successor agreement to the contract have started between the labor union and the villages. The current 3-year contract will expire at the end of 2022.

Commission President Communications

None

Closed Session

A motion was made by Bill Van Berkel to adjourn to closed session. Carl Rambo seconded the motion. The motion carried, 4–0.

A motion was made by Bill Van Berkel to return to open session. Jason Weber seconded the motion. The motion carried, 4-0.

Action from Closed Session

The Police Commission approved FVMPD to begin a hiring process.

Schedule of the Next Police Commission Meeting

The next Police Commission Meeting will be at 5:00pm on Monday, May 9, 2022, in the conference room at Fox Valley Metro Police Department, 200 W McKinley Ave, Little Chute WI.

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Jason Weber at 5:09 pm. Sue Brown seconded the motion. The motion carried, 4-0.

Police Commission meeting minutes are subject to change until they have been approved by the Police Commission.

Submitted by:

Kelly Vanden Heuvel

cc: Village Administrators